

of America

Congressional Record

proceedings and debates of the 113^{tb} congress, first session

House of Representatives

Gus M. Bilirakis Extension of Remarks Congratulating the 2012 National Academy of Inventors' Charter Fellows February 28, 2013

Mr. Speaker, I rise today to honor the 101 inventors who were recently recognized at the University of South Florida in Tampa and inducted as the 2012 National Academy of Inventors' Charter Fellows by the United States Commissioner of Patents, Margaret A. Focarino. In order to be named as a Charter Fellow, these men and women were nominated by their peers and have undergone the scrutiny of the NAI Selection Committee, having had their innovations deemed as making significant impact on quality of life, economic development, and welfare of society. Collectively, this elite group holds more than 3,200 patents.

The individuals making up this year's class of Charter Fellows include individuals from 56 research universities and non-profit research institutes spanning not just the United States but also the world. This group of inductees touts eight Nobel Laureates, 14 presidents of research universities and non-profit research institutes, 53 members of the National Academies, 11 inductees of the National Inventors Hall of Fame, two Fellows of the Royal Society, five recipients of the National Medal of Technology and Innovation, four recipients of the National Medal of Science, and 31 AAAS Fellows, among other major awards and distinctions.

The contributions made to society through innovation are immeasurable. I commend these individuals, and the organizations that support them, for the work that they do to revolutionize the world we live in. As the following inventors are inducted, may it encourage future innovators to strive to meet this high honor and continue the spirit of innovation.

The 2012 NAI Charter Fellows include:

Dharma P. Agrawal, University of Cincinnati Anthony Atala, Wake Forest University Benton F. Baugh, University of Houston Khosrow Behbehani, University of Texas at Arlington Raymond J. Bergeron, University of Florida Gerardine G. Botte, Ohio University Robert H. Brown, Jr., University of Massachusetts Medical Center Robert L. Byer, Stanford University Sir Roy Calne, University of Cambridge Curtis R. Carlson, SRI International Nai Yuen Chen, University of Texas at Arlington Stephen Z. D. Cheng, The University of Akron Paul C. W. Chu, University of Houston

James J. Collins, Boston University James G. Conley, Northwestern University Joseph T. Coyle, Harvard University James E. Dahlberg, University of Wisconsin-Madison Roger J. Davis, University of Massachusetts Medical Center Sandra J. F. Degen, University of Cincinnati Hector F. DeLuca, University of Wisconsin-Madison Donn M. Dennis, University of Florida Akira Endo, Tokyo University of Agriculture & Technology Howard J. Federoff, Georgetown University Thomas J. Fogarty, Fogarty Institute for Innovation Kenneth M. Ford, Institute for Human & Machine Cognition Eric R. Fossum, Dartmouth College Robert C. Gallo, University of Maryland Alan N. Gent, The University of Akron Morteza Gharib, California Institute of Technology Ivar Giaever, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Barbara A. Gilchrest, Boston University Richard D. Gitlin, University of South Florida Leonid B. Glebov, University of Central Florida D. Yogi Goswami, University of South Florida Mark W. Grinstaff. Boston University Greg Hampikian, Boise State University Barbara C. Hansen, University of South Florida Patrick T. Harker, University of Delaware Martin E. Hellman, Stanford University Nick Holonyak, Jr., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Leroy E. Hood, Institute for Systems Biology Richard A. Houghten, Torrey Pines Institute for Molecular Studies Ernest B. Izevbigie, Jackson State University Stephen C. Jacobsen, University of Utah Eric W. Kaler, University of Minnesota Linda P.B. Katehi, University of California, Davis Joseph P. Kennedy, The University of Akron Sakhrat Khizroev, Florida International University Sung Wan Kim, University of Utah George V. Kondraske, University of Texas at Arlington John J. Kopchick, Ohio University Roger D. Kornberg, Stanford University Max G. Lagally, University of Wisconsin-Madison Robert S. Langer, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Brian A. Larkins, University of Nebraska-Lincoln Victor B. Lawrence, Stevens Institute of Technology Virginia M.-Y. Lee, University of Pennsylvania Jean-Marie Pierre Lehn, University of Strasbourg Shinn-Zong Lin, China Medical University Thomas A. Lipo, University of Wisconsin-Madison Barbara H. Liskov, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Alan F. List, H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute R. Bowen Loftin, Texas A&M University Dan Luss, University of Houston Robert Magnusson, University of Texas at Arlington Richard B. Marchase, University of Alabama at Birmingham Stephen W. S. McKeever, Oklahoma State University Craig C. Mello, University of Massachusetts Medical Center Shvam S. Mohapatra, University of South Florida Theodore D. Moustakas, Boston University George R. Newkome, The University of Akron C. L. Max Nikias, University of Southern California

David P. Norton, University of Florida Julio C. Palmaz, U. of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio Thomas N. Parks, University of Utah C. Kumar N. Patel, University of California, Los Angeles Prem S. Paul, University of Nebraska-Lincoln David W. Pershing, University of Utah G. P. Peterson, Georgia Institute of Technology Leonard Polizzotto, Draper Laboratory Huntington Potter, University of Colorado, Denver Paul R. Sanberg, University of South Florida Timothy D. Sands, Purdue University Raymond F. Schinazi, Emory University Dean L. Sicking, University of Alabama at Birmingham Oliver Smithies, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Solomon H. Snyder, Johns Hopkins University Franky So, University of Florida M. J. Soileau, University of Central Florida Nan-Yao Su, University of Florida Jack W. Szostak, Harvard University Esther Sans Takeuchi, Stony Brook University H. Holden Thorp, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Charles H. Townes, University of California, Berkeley John Q. Trojanowski, University of Pennsylvania Roger Y. Tsien, University of California, San Diego James L. Van Etten, University of Nebraska-Lincoln James W. Wagner, Emory University John E. Ware, Jr., University of Massachusetts Medical Center Herbert Weissbach, Florida Atlantic University Shin-Tson Wu, University of Central Florida

I yield back the balance of my time.

###

To View online, please visit: <u>http://thomas.loc.gov/cgi-bin/query/z?r113%3AE28FE3-0057%3A%2F</u>